The winners of the 65th Annual Peabody Awards were announced yesterday by the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. The winners, chosen by the Peabody board as the best in electronic media for 2005, were named in a ceremony in the Peabody Gallery on the University of Georgia Campus.

The Peabody recipients - from three continents and in seven languages - reflect the international scope of the competition. They range from television stations in Biloxi, Miss., and New Orleans, La., that provided heroic coverage of Hurricane Katrina’s devastating landfall and aftermath, to "Yesterday," a South African film that personalized the continent’s AIDS crisis. The BBC won with WGBH as co-producer for the exemplary dramatization of Charles Dickens’ "Bleak House."

The awards will be presented June 5 at a luncheon at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. Jon Stewart, anchor of Comedy Central’s two-time Peabody Award winner, "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart," will be the master of ceremonies.

"As is the case every year, submissions for consideration by the Peabody Board provide insight into the astonishing array of electronic media productions" said Horace Newcomb, Director of the Peabody Awards. "These are the works self-selected by creators and producers as their very best work from the previous calendar year. This year’s Peabody Award recipients stand as hallmarks of excellence in news, documentary, comedy, drama, education and public service."

The Peabody Board is a 16-member group, comprised of television critics, broadcast and cable industry executives and experts in culture and the arts, that judges the entries. Selection is made by the board following review by special screening committees of UGA faculty, students and staff.

The Peabody Awards, the oldest honour in electronic media, do not recognize categories nor is there a set number of awards given each year. Today the Peabody recognizes distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by stations, networks, producing organizations and individuals.

All entries become a permanent part of the Peabody Archive in the University of Georgia Libraries. The collection is one of the nation’s oldest, largest and most respected moving-image archives. For more information about the Peabody Archive or the Peabody Awards, visit their site.


We use cookies on our website. Read our Policy