As some of you might have noticed while busy checking the Galleries, Nat's been to the Galaxy Book Awards 2011 last night. You might wonder whether there's going to be a broadcast of this event well - yes and no. Read on and keep your VCR busy over the next few weeks to catch up with everything.

The Galaxy National Book Awards ceremony  hosted by Dara O Briain and Helen Baxendale, will not be broadcast in full in one show this year, instead being showcased in a six-part series via More4. The six-part series, one more episode than last year, will be called "Booked-Winners of the Galaxy National Book Awards", and will run in a 17:00 (GMT) slot on Saturday nights on More4 from November 12 to December 17, 2011.

The series will again be produced by Cactus TV, with the format of the episodes changing. The first five episodes will feature a celebrity author chat, interviews with the individual category award winners from the awards' night, which aim to give a flavour of the event.

The Winners for 2011 are Audiobook of the year
My Dear I Wanted to Tell You Louisa Young (HCAudio)

Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year
A Tiny Bit Marvellous Dawn French (Penguin)

Crime & Thriller of the Year
Before I Go To sleep S J Watson (Doubleday)

More4 popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
How To Be a Woman Caitlin Moran (Ebury)

Galaxy New Writer of the Year
When God was a Rabbit Sarah Winman (Headline)

National Book tokens Children's Book of the Year
A Monster Calls Patrick Ness (Walker)

Food & Drink Book of the Year
The Good Cook Simon Hopkinson (BBC Books)

The Telegraph Biography of the Year
Charles Dickens Claire Tomalin (Viking)

International Author of the Year
A Visit From the Goon Squad Jennifer Egan (Corsair)

Waterstone's UK Author of the Year
The Stranger's Child Alan Hollinghurst (Picador)

WHSmith Paperback of the Year
Room Emma Donoghue (Picador)

Outstanding Achievement Award
Jackie Collins (Simon & Schuster)


We use cookies and fonts from outside this website Read our Policy